No Milk Left Unspoken

 

For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

It was Christmas Eve 2012. My family sat down for our first family dinner without anyone else. My sister said that my moms signature mashed potatoes weren’t all that great. After many snipe comebacks between the two, all of my siblings were tearing each other down.

Then came dessert. On holidays, specifically Christmas, everyone likes to drink eggnog. Unfortunately for me, this was not the case. Instead, I drank a glass of milk with a brownie.

20151210_192636-1.jpgAs I was drinking my milk, I coughed and sneezed at the same time, making me throw up the entire glass of milk. It was coming out of my nose and my mouth, along with what was left of the brownie I had eaten. Instantly my family bursted into laughter and helped clean me up.

What I learned from this is that God has a sense of humor, and knows exactly why certain things happen. What I didn’t know was that he had planned my embarrassing feat to cease the fighting and fix what would be one of my favorite Christmas dinners.

Author: Karla Sanchez

Prayer: Lord guide me through the darkness with your glory as my light. May peace and love surround me whenever I lose sight; Watch over my family while I am fast asleep. Sing them songs of kindness and never let them weep. Amen.

This entry was posted in Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

