Gifts

 

We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us.  If your gift is prophesying… serving…teaching …to encourage… giving… to lead…to show mercy, do it cheerfully. 

Romans 12:6-8

            Christmas is one of my favorite times of year and always has been.  The main reason?  I love presents.  Making lists, shopping, wrapping, giving, opening.  One of the best feelings I have ever experienced is finding the perfect gift for someone.  Then comes the agony of waiting until you can give it to them and so that they realize how perfect it is.  I took over wrapping most of our gifts a few years ago; I love the feeling of the scissors zipping through the wrapping paper. And, of course, unwrapping gifts is great: the rrrrrrip of the wrapping paper or the crinkle of tissue paper as you uncover what was underneath after all the anticipation of waiting and guessing.

20151210_192636-1.jpg I always seemed to get way more excited about this aspect of than anyone else, but I did not realize why until I learned about love languages.  Of the five (touch, gifts, time, service, and words), I am very distinctly “gifts.”  This is the reason I always loved giving and getting gifts.  I spend hours searching for my friends’ presents to make sure I am getting exactly the right thing.  I am so excited that it’s nearly that time of year again!

Author: Dixie Reel

Prayer

God, help us find the best way to share our love with others this year.

This entry was posted in Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

