And Next on Lifetime…

 

God sets the lonely in families, he leads out the prisoners with singing….

Psalm 68:6, NIV

From Thanksgiving through Christmas Eve, my television constantly plays Christmas movies. I admit, I’m completely addicted. In mid-November I start searching channels to find my old favorites and look for new ones. I love that by the end of two hours some unexpected miracle has occurred: the long lost brother has been found, the step child has accepted her new Dad, or the convict gets a reprieve and is reunited with his family just in time for Christmas dinner. I sigh and smile as the joyous music heralds the fairy tale ending.20151210_192636-1.jpg

My own family stories don’t end this way. Our lives are messy and complicated, and problems take more than two hours to solve. The point is, though, that they do get solved. Because God loves us so much, he created the family for us to learn and grow in. On Christmas morning, I sit amid the chaos of wrapping paper and candy spilled from stockings, my son’s new video game already blaring through the TV. I smile and hum my own joyous tune.

(author: Monica Clegg)

Prayer

Sweet father, thank you for the gift of family. Help this holiday season be filled with love and laughter. Let all enjoy every busy, chaotic minute. Amen

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

