The “Pop” Stopped

But He (Jesus) answered and said to them, “I tell you that if these should keep silent, the stones would immediately cry out.” Luke 19:40 (NKJV)

Christmas meant popcorn balls.

Syrup was grandma’s specialty. Once the kernels went to fire, the focus was on that quick quiet moment between the popping and her humming’s halt.

Essentially when the pop stopped we went into action. The fluffy white pieces were poured into the pans followed by the beyond boiling syrup.

Seasoned hands dove in and formed the treats with cold butter serving as respite for fast fingers. Failure to butter up would mean the “glue” would surely stick and burn.

The children wrapped the treats in plastic.

After it all, everyone had gifts made with love to enjoy and share.

Sometimes the popping action in life and the hum of the world halt. These moments are nice. I think of them as the world kneeling to Jesus.

Like the kernels popped in my memory, I’ll pop for my Lord. Like the butter buffered the burn, I’ll seek truth from scripture. I’ll both enjoy and share the love wrapped gift of salvation, all the days of my life.

20151210_192636-1.jpg(author: Kelly Harris)

Prayer:

Lord, may my silence only be on bended knee, yielding my life to You and upon Your return.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

