Redirection by Ken Berg

Let us fix our eyes upon Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith…
Hebrews 12:2 (NIV)

I fell down a flight of stairs at my house on Christmas morning when
I was six years old. In a hurry to open my gifts, I ran from my upstairs
bedroom, tripped at the top of the staircase, and tumbled all the
way down.

I couldn’t breathe when I hit bottom because the wind was knocked
out of me. I panicked, convinced I would die on Christmas Day.
When I finally caught my breath, I started crying, mortified by my
stumble.

I recall my father putting his arm around me, pointing to the corner
of our living room, and saying, “Son, look at your presents under the
Christmas tree.”

Forgetting my pain, I immediately stopped crying and ran to my
presents.

When I think of this incident, I remember that God sent Jesus into the
world to give us a hope and a future, to help us refocus on a better
outcome.

Prayer
Dear Lord, you are the true gift of Christmas.
Help us to remember to keep our eyes upon you. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

