Keep the “Christ” in Christmas by Anthony Crawford

Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and
night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then
you will be prosperous and successful. Joshua 1:8 (NIV)

Every year I wake up on Christmas morning to do nothing but try to
impress relatives I barely know at my mother’s orders. We try to fit
in as many family visits as we can, obsessing over silly details in
hopes of perfection. Constant stress and being yelled at for anything
less makes you forget the good in Christmas.

Over the last year I’ve realized this isn’t what Christmas is meant to
be. It isn’t a meal that unites family for only one evening. Christmas
is about praising God and rejoicing in His blessings, not gathering
around a turkey to eat in silence because no one knows a thing about
each other.

So I have pledged to never celebrate “Christmas” when I leave home.
I will celebrate Christ, and thank Him for my blessings rather than
prove to strangers that I can bake a better turkey. This doesn’t mean
I’m going to abandon my family, but I’m not going to forget the
‘Christ’ in Christmas just to visit as many family members as possible.
You should be close to you family all year round, and not use
one night to make up for a year. Keep Christ in Christmas, and forget
the agenda.
Prayer
I pray that we remember what Christmas truly is. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

