Home — by Brenda Blanchard

“…and at home with the Lord…” 2Cor. 5:6-10 (NIV)

I grew up in the small town of Independence, Kansas. Popula- tion: 10,324. Nearly a hundred of that number were my relatives. At a sleep-over my senior year, a group of friends wrote down where we saw ourselves ten, twenty, fifty years ahead. Along with my ambitions, I remember writing “in Independence, Kansas” for each milepost.

God had a different plan. Right after college, my high school sweetheart turned husband and I moved to New Mexico for a job. Moving over twenty times since then, I still call Independence, “home,” albeit thirty years after living there.

Every Christmas I go home to visit cherished relatives and friends. Driving through the town, I rejoice with every new change. Excitement overflows seeing familiar places with happy memories etched on my mind.

I always feel a little sad when I notice the town’s welcome sign in my rearview mirror as I leave. But that, too, remains part of its charm.

A little farther down the road, I find myself thinking about my permanent and eternal home in Heaven, prepared especially for me by my Father. Surely, Heaven has hints of Independence, Kansas, in it. People I love, angels singing, streets of gold, and, mostly, Jesus welcoming me home.

Heavenly Father, “When we all get to Heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be. When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory.” I sing praises for home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home — by Brenda Blanchard

  1. Brenda; your devotion is a reminder that we all have memories, some good and bad, of our childhood home town. It was great how you linked the thought of hometown to our home with the heavenly Father.

    Like

Leave a Reply

