Why We Rejoice — by Kimberly Villalva

“In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.” 1 Peter 1:6 (NIV)

Rejoice. Suffer. Grieve. Which word doesn’t fit? Do you remember this type of schoolwork when you were a kid? Cross out the word that doesn’t go with the others. I’d pull out my pen and mark through “rejoice”…surely that does not go with suffering and grieving.

I can back up my answer too. After all I had a second miscarriage this past spring. I am facing what would have been our month-old baby girl’s “First Christmas” with empty arms.

As I worked through the grieving process yet again, I felt anger, con- fusion, questions and sadness.

And surprisingly…joy. How could I feel joy after our baby was taken away from us?

I can feel joy because God surprised me with a beautiful gift who one day I will cover with tons of Mommy tears, kisses and hugs.

It was God’s Gift to the whole world which brought rejoicing alongside of suffering. The birth of the long-awaited Messiah, Jesus Christ, changed everything.

Which word doesn’t belong? The precious Christ Child crosses out both grief and suffering leaving us rejoicing as we look forward to eternal life with Him.

Heavenly Father, It seems like trials are always with us and the holidays are no exception. Remind us that all of this is temporary as we rejoice in the birth of our Savior, Jesus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

