The Gift of Christ — by Ken Berg

 “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 29:20 (NIV)

“I hate Christmas. I wish they’d celebrate it just every two years,” I said over lunch. “Better yet, once a decade.”

Two co-workers stared at me. “How can you say such a thing?” asked the first.

Easy. The holiday brings unparalleled loneliness and isolation. For me, it was like attending a big dance without a date, and being forced to stay for the duration, watching everyone else revel.

The other co-worker smiled and wagged her finger. “One day, you might regret your attitude.”

“We’ll see.”

Within a year, I lost my job for an unjust reason, throwing me into a period of unemployment and desperation. But I was eventually, almost miraculously exonerated and soon found another job.

“Thank you for getting me out of that mess,” I told God during a time of prayer at the close of the year.  After some hesitation, I added, “And I’m sorry for what I’ve said about Christmas.”

“It’s okay,” I heard the Holy Spirit say. “And cheer up.”

“Huh?”

“You know, rejoice! You’re never alone. I am always with you.”

Dear Lord, thank you for the gift of Christ, through whom we have our salvation, not to mention your dear presence and grace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

