Abandon — by Monica Clegg

I’m whistling, laughing, and jumping for joy I’m singing your song, High God. (Psalm 9:2 MSG)

We have two dogs that live in our home. Both of them follow me around the house. Abbie is content to lay quietly on the couch or on the carpet near my feet. Cookie, on the other hand, borders on frantic when she can’t be with me. My husband and son amuse themselves by holding her back when I leave a room. Cookie cries and carries on as if she were being tortured. When they finally let her go, she runs with absolute abandon to find me, then wiggles and jumps with joy when she does.

As Christmas approaches, I am filled with the same kind of joy. I know my sweet savior is always with me, but I get so busy with everyday life that I sometimes forget. Work, scouts, family and chores often hold me back from that closeness I seek.

During this happy season, my wish is that we all set aside our busyness, let go of simple contentment, and run with abandon toward our loving Father to bask in His presence.

Sweet heavenly Father, thank you for the gift of joy that you send us today and every day. Help us always remember to spend time in your presence and bask in the warmth of your love. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

