A Time of Jubilation — by Sandra Cleary

Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again–rejoice! (Philippians 4:4 NLT)

My granddaughter was going through some rough patches and decided to come live with us for awhile. It lasted for a month and she headed back home. Before she left I sat down with her and let her know how important a high school diploma is in this day and age. I didn’t want to sound like I was nagging, but I know it probably came across that way. When she boarded the plane and said good-by, her last words were, “I promise I will graduate, Grandma.”

May is graduation time and this last May was a special graduation in our family. As I watched my granddaughter walk across the stage to receive her diploma, my heart burst with pride, along with the water works in the eyes.

When the long-awaited Messiah was born on Christmas Eve, I would have like to have seen the look in the shepherd’s eyes as they gazed upon His beautiful face lying in His makeshift bed. Or to have seen the Wise Men as they dismounted their camels and quickened their steps to see the long awaited promise fulfilled. I can only imagine the glorious sound coming from the skies as angels rejoiced.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for promises made and promises kept. Amen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

